Montrose Man Credit: courtesy the artist

This Saturday at the Empty Bottle, two hot local trios celebrate new records: headliners Absolutely Not welcome their brand-new spazz-punk opus Errors into the world, and noise-rock trio Montrose Man release their debut album, Lazy Looker, into the wild.

Montrose Man are a super-loud grungy outfit fronted by Bleach Party’s Meg MacDuff and featuring Matt Haywood of postpunks Beat Drun Juel
on drums. They combine the influences of heady Touch and Go noise-rock and pummeling Sub Pop grunge, and by adding a huge dose of MacDuff’s distinctive melodic sense they transform those sounds into something that’s simultaneously miserable and epic.

Lazy Looker, engineered by Meat Wave bassist Joe Gac, will be out via local label Midwest Action on CD and cassette this weekend. In advance of the release, Montrose Man have dropped a video for the song “Tom Waits for No One,” which the Reader is presenting in an exclusive premiere. It’s creepy, unsettling, and super fun—just like the band.

YouTube video