Last month I featured the title track from Brokeback‘s terrific new album, The Wire, the Rag, and the Payoff (Thrill Jockey), as a 12 O’Clock track selection here on the Bleader. Brokeback started out in 1995 as a solo side project for bassist Douglas McCombs (Tortoise/Eleventh Dream Day); it’s gone through several iterations since, but the current quartet format might be the best, most intense manifestation yet, featuring Jim Elkington on drums, Pete Croke on bass, and Christopher Hansen on guitar. The album was released on January 22 and the band just announced its first proper show since it came out—they’ll open for Deathfix, a new project featuring Fugazi drummer Brendan Canty, at Schubas on March 10.