The Society of Midland Authors honored its picks for the best books by midwestern authors published in 2009 on May 11 at its 94th annual awards dinner.

Per the SMA’s Web site: “The juried competition is open to authors and poets who reside in, were born in, or have strong ties to the twelve-state Midwestern Heartland.” That is, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Here are the winners: