The tale of the tape says the Illinois attorney general race should be the biggest mismatch since Peter McNeeley threw in the towel against Mike Tyson. John Schmidt (Harvard man, ex-associate attorney general of the United States) versus Lisa Madigan (Loyola University law ’94, first-term state senator). But Madigan’s father, Illinois house speaker Michael Madigan, is putting in the fix. Take a dive, Johnny–March 19 is not your night. Lisa’s getting a title fight against Republican Joe Birkett; you’re getting a one-way ticket to Palookaville.

John Schmidt

Born November 14, 1943, in Chicago. Son of the late Edward Schmidt, president of W.W. Grainger the industrial-supplies giant.


J.D. Harvard Law School 1967

Cofounder and president of the Chicago Council of Lawyers 1974-’76

Led the 1979 revision of Illinois’ mental-health laws

Chairman of the Illinois Guardianship and Advocacy Commission 1980-’82

Chief of staff to Mayor Richard M. Daley 1989

Chairman of the Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority 1989-’94; oversaw McCormick Place expansion and Navy Pier renovation

United States ambassador and chief U.S. negotiator at world trade talks in Geneva, Switzerland, 1993-’94

Associate attorney general of the United States 1994-’97. Oversaw the tax, civil rights, environmental, and antitrust divisions of the Justice Department. Oversaw the National Institute of Justice and the Bureau of Justice Assistance. Directed the implementation of the 1994 Crime Bill, which aimed to put 100,000 new police officers on the streets. Oversaw implementation of the Motor Voter law. Set up the Justice Department’s Violence Against Women Office.

Visiting scholar at Northwestern University School of Law 1997

Partner at Mayer, Brown & Platt 1998-present

Member of the advisory board of the National Forum on Crime and Justice 2001-present

Trustee of the Illinois Institute of Technology

Chairman of the board of overseers of IIT-Chicago-Kent College of Law

Cochair of Citizens for Court Reform

Chairman of the West Haven Security Working Group


Dawn Clark Netsch, former state comptroller and 1994 Democratic nominee for governor

Scott Lassar, former U.S. attorney Northern District of Illinois

Thomas Sullivan, former U.S. attorney Northern District of Illinois

Brent Fisher, sheriff Adams County

Gerald Kempf, sheriff Brown County

Dan Daly, sheriff Fulton County

Mark Lumbeck, sheriff Henderson County

Jim Thompson, sheriff Knox County

Richard Walker, sheriff Mason County

Charles Burch, state’s attorney Calhoun County

Mark Shaner, state’s attorney Crawford County

Stephen Friedel, state’s attorney Fayette County

Todd Reitz, state’s attorney Lawrence County

Joe Jackson, state’s attorney Massac County

Paul Lamar, former state’s attorney Hardin County

Hellenic Police Association

Latin American Police Association

Chicago Police Detectives’ Association

Lisa Madigan

Born July 30, 1966, in Chicago. Daughter of Michael Madigan, speaker of the Illinois house of representatives.


J.D. Loyola University Chicago School of Law 1994

Executive editor Loyola Consumer Law Reporter 1993-’94

Litigator, Sachnoff & Weaver 1994-’98; specialized in employment-discrimination law.

State senator 1999-present. Member education committee, appropriations committee, joint committee on administrative rules. Sponsored a law allowing police to seize vehicles containing secret compartments that can be used to hide guns or drugs

Founding member of the Loyola School of Law Alumnae Project Steering Committee


Richard M. Daley, mayor Chicago

John Stroger, president Cook County Board

Dick Devine, state’s attorney Cook County

David Orr, Cook County clerk

Eugene Moore, recorder of deeds Cook County

Michael Sheahan, sheriff Cook County

James Houlihan, assessor Cook County

Carol Moseley-Braun, former U.S. senator

Paul Simon, former U.S. senator

Adlai Stevenson III, former U.S. senator, 1982 and ’86 Democratic nominee for governor

Glenn Poshard, former U.S. representative, 1998 Democratic nominee for governor

Neil Hartigan, former attorney general of Illinois, 1990 Democratic nominee for governor

Dan Hynes, Illinois comptroller

Jesse White, Illinois secretary of state

Jan Schakowsky, U.S. representative

Danny Davis, U.S. representative

Lane Evans, U.S. representative

David Phelps, U.S. representative

Jerry Costello, U.S. representative

Bobby Rush, U.S. representative

William Lipinski, U.S. representative

Luis Gutierrez, U.S. representative

45 Chicago aldermen

10 Cook County commissioners

26 state senators

62 state representatives, including house speaker Michael Madigan

28 state’s attorneys

39 sheriffs

62 Democratic county chairmen

43 former judges

AFL-CIO of Illinois

Democratic Party of Illinois

Democratic County Chairmen’s Association

Knights of Columbus

Associated Fire Fighters of Illinois

Bricklayers & Allied Craftworkers, Local number eight

Chicago Fire Fighters Union

Chicago Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge number seven

Chicago Police Captains Association

Fraternal Order of Police, Illinois State Lodge

Citizen Action Illinois

Illinois Education Association

Illinois Federation of Teachers

Ironworkers Union, Local 380

Italian American Police Association

Independent Voters of Illinois-Independent Precinct Organization (IVI-IPO)

Illinois Education Association

Puerto Rican Police Association

Sheet Metal Workers International, Local 268

United Food and Commercial Workers International Union, Local 881

Art accompanying story in printed newspaper (not available in this archive): illustration/Mike Werner.