Posted inMusic

Scandinavian quintet Atomic find hidden possibilities in the music of others

Scandinavian quintet Atomic first convened in 2000, and even after nearly two decades, they never have trouble generating material in-house. Saxophonist and clarinetist Fredrik Ljungkvist, trumpeter Magnus Broo, pianist Håvard Wiik, bassist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, and drummer Hans Hulbœkmo (who replaced original drummer Paal Nilssen-Love in 2014) are all fluent improvisers in free and structured […]